The Secret Northern Line Tunnel in Embankment!

Well, okay, maybe the tunnel isn’t secret.

But it’s built, sealed, abandoned, bombed and flooded, and lost in history. Take a look at this tube plan below, you’ll see the loop running from Charing Cross and under the Thames.

Then when they decided to extend the line to Kennington, they dug the new tunnel, using part of the old one as north bound platform (which is the very same one we’re using today), dumping the soil from the new tunnel they dug to the old loop tunnel, then sealed shut… and yeah, got bombed by the German later on

The new tunnel is in orange.

It’s amazed me that back in early 20th century, you british people 1)have operated underground system for like 40 years, part of trains operated were even electric (WHAT?!) 2)came up with engineering work going under the river  3)designed such neat plan that looks like it’s made by computer.

(Hate to say this) Comparing to my country… our first underground system first opened like say 7 years ago 😦

Check this!!!! The illustration from  a magazine…So neat and detailed!!

Amazing huh? After I saw this article I couldn’t help thinking about the tunnel underneath every time I walk pass Charing Cross! : D

For full article packed with useful information, visit Ianvisit.com here , all credit to this website. (Brilliant articles you got, Ian!)

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Secret Northern Line Tunnel in Embankment!

  1. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your website?
    My blog site is in the very same niche as yours and my visitors would genuinely benefit
    from some of the information you provide here.

    Please let me know if this okay with you. Thanks a lot!

    • Hello CarbonPoker! Sorry for the late reply.. I’ve been away (as you might have already noticed from my lack of post…)

      Of course I don’t mind at all 🙂 Would love to check out your blog as well! Would you mind giving me your blog’s url? I’m sure yours must be interesting!

      Thanks!

Leave a Reply

